23 Jun

Congratulations to Sneha Mishra and Kelsey Bonds who are both recipients of two scholarships offered at UniHall.

Sneha won the 2016 Ralph Pervan Scholarship. This scholarship is named in honour of the late Ralph Pervan, an alumnus of the Hall who worked to promote social unity and is open to any student completing Year 12 at a secondary school in rural WA. It is awarded on the basis of an applicant’s potential to benefit from university studies and to contribute to the community both within the Hall and in the external community.

Sneha is a student who arrived in Australia at the age of 12 from Nepal then had to learn English as a second language to complete her schooling. MGP-UWA-UniHall-Commencement Event-Mar 2016 068She graduated from Bunbury Senior High School in 2015 and has achieved a guaranteed pathway into Medicine at UWA. Along the way Sneha has participated in leadership and community work, becoming a founding member of the Headspace Bunbury Youth Reference Group, attending the 2016 Catalyst Multicultural Youth Summit, delivering the ANZAC Requiem in 2015 at Bunbury’s 100th Anniversary ANZAC Service in front of 7 000 people and having received numerous awards including the Australian Youth Excellence Award, the ZONTA Young Woman in Public Affairs Award, the Long Tan Leadership and Teamwork Award and the ECU Personal Excellence Award. UniHall Scholarship Winners Kelsey has been awarded the 2016 UWA Accommodation Bursary.

MGP-UWA-UniHall-Commencement Event-Mar 2016 106Kelsey is a Yamitji Indigenous woman and a dual Australian-American citizen. She completed her high school education and an Associate Degree in Criminal Justice in Mississippi, an Honours degree at Norfolk State University in Virginia and a Bachelor of Arts in Anthropology at Deakin University in Victoria.

Kelsey has completed internships through the Disney College Program, the United States Marines and Advocates for Freedom in Mississippi. She has also been an ambassador representing Deakin University at the Koori Youth Summit and worked with the Narana Aboriginal Cultural Centre. Kelsey is now studying in the Doctor of Medicine Program at UWA.

Congratulations also go to the following UniHallers who have been awarded 2016 scholarships:

Nixon Hamlet (David Mack Indigenous Residential Scholarship for 2016), Ziggy Fatnowna, Sienna Howard (INPEX Scholarships), Clayce Wilson, Jessie Scally, Tian Hall (BHP ), Travis Germain (BHP-AIEF), Jayden Dadleh (Rio Tinto Postgraduate Coursework Scholarship for Indigenous Students) and Wendi Torres and Jamilah bin Karim (SARRAH Allied Health Scholarships).

Leave a Comment